Jonny Greenwood to Soundtrack 'There Will Be Blood' Live

Greenwood plays his 2007 score at London's Roundhouse

Jonny Greenwood Paul Thomas Anderson Live Score
Jonny Greenwood performing live with Radiohead PHOTO BY GETTY IMAGES
Colin Joyce

As Jonny Greenwood continues his work in abstract composition, he's revisiting his breakthrough orchestral piece. The Radiohead guitarist's recent achievements include the debut of a new piece called "Loop," performances of Steve Reich pieces, and progress on another Paul Thomas Anderson score. On August 6 and 7 at the Roundhouse in London, he'll go back to where it began, with the first-ever live scoring of Anderson-directed film There Will Be Blood.

Greenwood began his career apart from Radiohead in 2003 with Bodysong, a soundtrack to a Simon Pummell film of the same name, but it was his 2007 score for There Will Be Blood that finally won him widespread solo acclaim. Though Greenwood has played selections from the score before during his solo shows, these London sets mark the first time that the score has been performed in full alongside the film itself. Greenwood will handle the ondes Martenot portion of the sweeping, moody soundtrack, accompanied by an orchestra of over 50 musicians.

This performance is part of the Roundhouse's live art series Summer Sessions, which will also feature Sinead O'Connor, Olafur Arnalds, and Kid Koala.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA