Jeff Tweedy Lays Down Spare Americana on 'Fake Fur Coat'

Wilco frontman and son Spencer releasing debut album 'Sukierae' in September

Jeff Tweedy 'Fake Fur Coat' Sukierae
Photo by Matt Roberts/Getty Images
Dan Reilly

Wilco main man Jeff Tweedy and his son Spencer, who together comprise the band Tweedy, are quite content to share a heaping helping of tracks from their debut album Sukierae well in advance of its release. Following the gritty "I'll Sing It," the languid "Summer Noon," and the gentle "Wait for Love" comes "Fake Fur Coat," a sweet slice of Americana featuring just the elder Tweedy on guitar and vocals, with background organ adding some fullness and warmth. It's much more like a solo song from the Wilco boss, which was the intention behind the album until Jeff decided to get Spencer involved as a drummer. Sukierae is out September 16 via Wilco's dBpm label.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA