Watch Jay Z Perform With Jay Electronica at Brooklyn Hip-Hop Festival

Hov makes a surprise stop in Williamsburg

Colin Joyce

While in town for a date on his co-headlining "On the Run" tour with Beyoncé, Jay Z made another surprise stop on Saturday at a rare Jay Electronica performance during this year's iteration of Brooklyn Hip-Hop Festival. Earlier in his set, Jay Elec brought out Mac Miller, J. Cole, and Talib Kweli for their respective collaborative tracks, but his Roc Nation boss' appearance turned out to be the show's pièce de résistance.

Hov came out to the strains "Young, Gifted, & Black," before the duo transitioned to their remix of Soulja Boy's "We Made It" and brief renditions of "Shiny Suit Theory" and "Public Service Announcement."

You can watch the whole video above, via MTV, featuring a positively sprightly Jay Z, though you have to wonder if he was feeling the same later that night after his second show of the day at New Jersey's MetLife Stadium.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 3 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 4 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 5 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 6 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 7 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA