Jason Molina's Songs: Ohia Singles Lovingly Collected for Box Set

'Journey On: Collected Singles' features nine pieces of vinyl, a turntable adapter, and more

jason molina, songs: ohia, record store day 2014
Jason Molina
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

April 19 marks Record Store Day 2014, a day when vinyl nerds everywhere can pore over special releases by a slew of artists, including the Flaming Lips, Mudhoney, and Pissed Jeans. This year's roster also includes the late Jason Molina's Songs: Ohia project, which will be honored with Journey On: Collected Singles, a box set featuring a host of rare recordings.

On the way via the good folks at Secretly Canadian, Journey On spans a total of 18 songs spread across nine seven-inch singles. The package comes in a cloth-bound, foil-stamped clamshell box and includes a 24-page booklet, a CD containing all 18 tracks, and a custom seven-inch turntable adapter imprinted with the Songs: Ohia crossbow insignia.

Journey On: Collected Singles is just the latest posthumous release from Molina, who tragically passed away on March 16, 2013 at the age of 39. Last year saw the reissue of Songs: Ohia's 1997 EP, Hecler & Griper, and a 10th anniversary edition of the final Songs: Ohia LP, 2003's Magnolia Electric Co. (Molina later went on to adopt Magnolia Electric Co. as his primary recording moniker.)

For a preview of the fast-approaching retrospective, stream Molina's somber, spare "Soul" below. Scroll down further for a picture of the box set, followed by a full track list.

Journey On: Collected Singles track list:

1A - "Boys"
1B - "Trans Am"

2A - "Freedom Pt. 2"
2B - "Soul"

3A - "Waltham: Simply Unite The Name"
3B - "Napoleon: How We Have Ranged"

4A - "Vanquisher"
4B - "Nay Tis Not Death"

5A - "7th Street Wonderland"
5B - "Darling You Are..."

6A - "How To Be Perfect Men"
6B - "Journey On"

7A - "Fade Street"
7B - "Lioness"

8A - "The Gray Tower"
8B - "Black Link to Fire Link"

9A - "Keep It Steady"
9B - "United of Lost Alone"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 KLOË — Grip " 03:24
  • 2 Dead Right! — Rising Tide (Saint Motel Remix) " 03:17
  • 3 The-Dream — Fruition " 04:33
  • 4 A. G. Cook — What I Mean " 04:06
  • 5 Howardian — Be Fruitful " 02:03
  • 6 The Suffers — Make Some Room " 04:34
  • 7 Adventures — Your Sweetness " 04:10

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA