Jamie xx Weaves Unreleased 'Sleep Sound' Into Four Tet, Future, and More for BBC Mix

Hear entire two-hour blend, first of more to come, at BBC Radio 6 website

jamie xx, bbc radio 6, sleep sound
Jamie xx in 2011 Photo by Getty Images
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Jamie xx kicked off his tenure as one of BBC Radio 6 Music's 6 Mix Resident DJs on December 6, delivering a two-hour mix that ended with an unreleased solo track. Dubbed "Sleep Sound," the song leaked a few weeks ago and showed up on the xx member's recent Live at Night + Day Berlin mix. "The new song fits in well with Rounds-era Four Tet and Caribou's Daphni-teasing Swim," SPIN's Chris Martins observed back in November. "Zero-gravity harp flutters give way to an upbeat bounce, cut up soul vocals, and inventive percussion."

Now the tune has resurfaced to cap off a mix featuring material by Future, Todd Edwards, Hyetal, and, of course, SPIN profile subjects the xx, among others. Stream the entire two-hour broadcast over at the BBC Radio 6 website.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA