Hear J. Cole and Miguel Contemplate Love Songs on 'Power Trip'

From the North Carolina MC's 'Born Sinner' LP

J. Cole Miguel 'Power Trip' Born Sinner Stream
Miguel at the 2013 Grammys / Photo by Getty Images
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

The wait for J. Cole's 2011 Roc Nation debut was immense indeed, but tastefulness takes time. Cole World: The Sideline Story wound up an excellent album and a strong study in self-determination that reignited the flames of anticipation beneath the North Carolina rapper-producer's career and scored him a Best New Artist nomination at the 2012 Grammys. Similarly, Miguel suffered record label mishandling and a long absence from the game before he released last year's incredible Kaleidoscope Dream, SPIN's fifth best album of 2012, which nabbed him and handful of noms and one big win on Music's (most recent) Biggest Night. It makes sense then that the two would display some solid chemistry on Cole's "Power Trip," a song about love-turned-obsession hailing from his forthcoming Born Sinner LP. Miguel carries the slinky hook, while J. laces not only the lyrics but the beat — a flute-looping bass-bumper that, like these two, keeps it simple but effective. For more from Cole's pending 2013 album, take a spin through his Truly Yours EP.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA