Iron & Wine Gets Lost in a Lover's Wilderness in Stop-Motion 'Joy' Video

'Ghost on Ghost' is due out on April 16 via Nonesuch

Marc Hogan

Sam Beam recently told SPIN the melodically sophisticated yet rough and human work of Harry Nilsson and Ram-era Paul McCartney came up as the singer-songwriter was starting his fifth album as Iron & Wine. Titled Ghost on Ghost, the LP is now streaming in full, and one track that embodies this type of earthy tunefulness is the smoothly flowing love ode "Joy." The director for the song's newly unveiled video (posted over at NPR), Hayley Morris, has said the video's inspiration comes from this lyric: "Deep inside the heart of this crazy mess / I'm only calm when I get lost within your wilderness." Using hand-painted water-color animations and stop-motion backdrops, the video shows the subject of the song's adoration filling the world with color.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Fantasmes — Bare Bones " 04:58
  • 2 The Black Angels — An Occurrence at 4507 South Third Street " 03:20
  • 3 J Dilla — Give Em What They Want " 02:45
  • 4 Low Leaf — Set Me Free " 02:13
  • 5 Doe Paoro — Nobody " 03:05
  • 6 Chromeo with Ezra Koenig — Ezra's Interlude " 01:55
  • 7 Soundgarden — Black Hole Sun (Demo) " 05:54

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA