Hear Iggy Pop and Nick Cave Growl Through Cover of Gun Club's 'Nobody's City'

Thurston Moore guests on guitar for tribute to the late Jeffrey Lee Pierce

Iggy Pop Nick Cave Thurston Moore Gun Club 'Nobody's City' Cover
Iggy Pop performs at the Tibet House benefit at Carnegie Hall Photo by Neilson Barnard/Getty Images
Dan Reilly

Gun Club leader Jeffrey Lee Pierce left behind a trove of unfinished material when he died in 1996 from a brain hemorrhage, and his friends and fans have been recording and fleshing out the songs for a series of tribute albums. Axels and Sockets is the third installment of the Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions Project and its lead track, "Nobody's City," packs quite a punch: Iggy Pop and Nick Cave share vocal duties, with Thurston Moore adding his trademark visceral guitar noise and while Bad Seeds drummer Jim Sclavunos holding it all together. Pop takes care of most of the straightforward singing while Cave gives the track an edge with his guttural growling. The compilation is out May 3 via Glitterhouse, and also features Debbie Harry, Primal Scream, Mark Lanegan, and Lydia Lunch, among many others. Check out "Nobody's City" below.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA