Hot New Hip-Hop: Tanya Morgan

Tanya Morgan
Larry Fitzmaurice

Tanya Morgan's three members -- Cincinnati-bred Donwill and Ilyas, and Brooklyn's Von Pea -- met through an online message board, and composed much of their 2006 debut, Moonlighting, by sending files to each other over the Internet.Their sophomore effort, Brooklynati, hit record stores this week -- and you can get a free taste right here!

"Tanya Morgan are like the sons of De La Soul -- soulful, stressed, effortlessly smart flows, intricate production, the whole package," SPIN Music Editor Charles Aaron says of the up-and-coming rappers -- high praise, indeed.

Check out a 16-minute mixtape of some of Brooklynati's best tracks below, and let us know if you agree in the comments section.

LISTEN: Tanya Morgan, "Brooklynati MegaMix -- King Most"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 2 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 3 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 4 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 5 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 6 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 7 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA