Hodgy Beats Croons, Swaggers, and Shreds on Streaming 'Untitled EP 2'

Odd Future founder and MellowHype member returns

Hodgy Beats 'Untitled 2' EP Mixtape Stream
From the cover of Hodgy Beats' "Untitled EP 2" oddfuture.com
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Los Angeles rhymer Hodgy Beats has made his name as the alternately swaggy and shreddy voice of MellowHype, Odd Future's often aggro and occasionally evil rap duo. But the 22-year-old MC does just fine without his usual partner in crime/baby's godfather, Left Brain. Last year's Untitled EP featured production from the likes of Flying Lotus, Alchemist, and Juicy J, and served as a solid stage for the man's no-bullshit rapping-ass raps. Now we have Untitled EP 2, which continues the trend but adds a couple of twists: like early leader "Years," several of the tracks include R&B-style singing from Beats, and a pair of them find the guy fronting his own imaginary hardcore band. While the production credits have yet to be released, Trash Talk screamer Lee Spielman does his thing on "Goodbye" and Brain adds his baritone raps to the spooky trunk-rattler "Karateman."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA