Hear SpaceGhostPurrp's Relatively Clear-Eyed 'Bringing Tha Phonk 2012'

4AD-signed rapper cleans off the philth on this remake of a Purrp classick

Marc Hogan

SpaceGhostPurrp's transition from woozy mixtape rapper to an artist signed to illustrious dream-pop imprint 4AD promises to be one of this year's more fascinating evolutions. After following the musty "No Evidence (Edit)" with the bass-heavy sex talk of "Lustful '97," the A$AP Mob-connected Florida MC has peeled off still more of his patina of production filth on the clear-eyed "Bringing Tha Phonk 2012" (via Soul Culture). Only this time, it's easy to hear exactly how much clearer his sound has gotten, because the track is a reworking of last year's one-off "Keep Bringing the Phonk." Sure, the digital din and porno moans here are far less idiosyncratic than the jazz-rap bass line and locomotive ambient sounds of the original. But the phonk, we realize, has to do with more than fuzz and murk. Chronicles of SpaceGhostPurrp is due out on June 12.


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 2 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 3 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 4 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 5 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 6 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 7 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA