Hear It: R.E.M. Release First Single from New Album

Kevin O'Donnell

After teasing the anthemic track "Discoverer" and their gorgeous collaboration with Eddie Vedder from their forthcoming 15th album, Collapse Into Now, R.E.M. have finally dropped the album's first official single, "Mine Smell Like Honey." Hear it below -- it's also available for purchase via iTunes.

Back in November, multi-instrumentalist Mike Mills told SPIN that the band was going for a more "expansive" sound on Collapse (out March 8) by mixing straight-up rockers with introspective ballads — a contrast to the short-and-fast approach to 2008's Accelerate.

"Honey" falls perfectly in between: Peter Buck's riffs veer from gritty power chords into his trademark, bright jangle, while Mills lays down some soaring backing vocal melodies under Michael Stipe's gravelly lead vocals.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA