HEAR IT: Peter Bjorn and John's New Album

Peter Bjorn and John
Kevin O'Donnell

On Peter, Bjorn and John's 2009 album Living Thing, the Stockholm trio traded in the whistle-happy, ear-worm-y hooks of instant classics like "Young Folks" for fractured hip-hop rhythms. They're changing things up once more for their new album Gimme Some, which is streaming in its entirety over at NPR. Head here to listen.

In his 7-out-of-10 review, contributor Marc Hogan praises the group for their never-ending quest to keep reinventing themselves. "Gimme Some has a punk-octane velocity that sometimes leads to bitterness — toward critics (the Buzzcocks thrash of 'Breaker Breaker'), Swedish royals (R.E.M. jangler '[Don't Let Them] Cool Off'), and pessimists (krautrock night-drive 'I Know You Don't Love Me'). Sometimes it still leads to romantic melancholy — burial ballad 'May Seem Macabre' or punk-pop sleeper 'Lies.'"

"But even when trading whistling for cowbell," Hogan continues, "There's something these three songwriters always remember: 'You can't, can't count on a second chance.' If the least they do is keep revealing new shades of the familiar, it's worth sticking around and seeing this band through."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26
  • 2 Buzzcocks — "It's Not You" " 02:46
  • 3 The Drums — Magic Mountain " 04:05
  • 4 Jessie Ware — Kind Of...Sometimes...Maybe " 03:46
  • 5 Flying Lotus — Coronus, the Terminator " 02:40
  • 6 JEFF The Brotherhood — Gouge Away " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA