Hear Ceremony's Full, Feral 'Zoo' LP

Ceremony / Photo by Jimmy Fontaine
Ceremony / Photo by Jimmy Fontaine
Marc Hogan

No cage can hold Ceremony, despite the name of the forward-thinking California punk thrashers' thrilling new album. Like Fucked Up, No Age, Iceage, Pissed Jeans, and other impressively vital bands in recent years, the men behind 2010 evolutionary leap Rohnert Park masterfully combine mosh-friendly fury with headphones-blasted finesse. Zoo, Ceremony's debut LP for indie stalwart Matador, takes another leap beyond the pit while still maintaining the visceral energy of the group's years on the hardcore touring circuit.

We've already heard blistering opener "Hysteria," frenzied call-and-response "World Blue," and brutally bittersweet "Adult," the last of which offers some smart coming-of-age advice for any well-meaning genre purists out there: "We have to give up the things we love sometimes." We're happy to present the exclusive premiere of the whole, wonderful thing, produced by John Goodmanson (Sleater-Kinney, Los Campesinos!, Blonde Redhead, Bikini Kill), right here.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA