Hear Black Moth Super Rainbow Spinoff Casket Girls' Woozy 'Sleepwalking'

Georgia trio's debut album, also titled 'Sleepwalking,' arrives on November 6

Casket Girls
Casket Girls
Marc Hogan

Savannah, Georgia-based Ryan Graveface runs Graveface Records and has played a role in such bands as Black Moth Super Rainbow, the Marshmallow Ghosts, and Dreamend. His latest project, the Casket Girls, is a collaboration with singer-lyricists Elsa and Phaedra Greene. "Sleepwalking," the title track from their debut LP — also titled Sleepwalking, and due out on November 6 via the Graveface label — puts a ghostly, electronic spin on '60s girl-group harmonies. "There will be no starting over / It'll just be over," the Greenes begin, with maybe a slight hint of twang, and you know this breakup might be a bit more final than all of Taylor Swift's never-evers. The Shangri-Las and their peers don't necessarily need another layer of darkness to be David Lynchian, but here the Casket Girls sound like homespun electronic kindred spirits to School of Seven Bells, A Sunny Day in Glasgow, Au Revoir Simone, and other dream-pop groups centered around swirling sisterly vocals. Death becomes them.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA