SPIN Staff

By: Jessica Grose

Attention ska enthusiasts from the mid-'90s. It's time to dust off your skankin' shoes for Hard-Fi. Emerging from the self-proclaimed "Armpit of Middlesex," Hard-Fi follows in the grand tradition of blue-collar British bands like Madness and the Clash, peppering their rock with Caribbean influences. Hard-Fi's debut U.S. EP, Cash Machine, is coming at a time when their U.K. brethren the Kaiser Chiefs are taking up the disaffected, working-class Brit flag.

Hard-Fi has gained notoriety already for their cover of the White Stripes' "Seven Nation Army." But Hard-Fi's lead singer Richard Archer is no Jack White wannabe: He makes the Stripes' 2003 hit into a sultry, echo-filled jam. Another highlight of the EP is the title track. Over a deceptively free-spirited bass line, Archer sings about the troubles of youth and money management. "What am I gonna do," Archer laments, "My girlfriend's test turned blue...I can't afford to be a dad / And so I leave tonight." Hard-Fi gets serious props for brining up a urine test in a rock song.

Hard-Fi is also getting serious props in their own country: They're up against eleven other bands including the Chiefs and such bright lights as M.I.A. for Britain's prestigious Mercury Prize this September. Hard-Fi is currently on tour in the United States, but they only have a couple more stateside dates before jetting off to the sexy shores of Ibiza, Spain, this August.

Hard-Fi U.S. tour dates:

7/28, Tucson, AZ (Club Congress)7/29, San Diego, CA (Qualcomm Stadium)7/30, Los Angeles, CA (Troubadour)7/31, San Francisco, CA (Cafe Du Nord)

Link:Hard-Fi official site

Listen to this band and each week's SPIN.com Bands of the Day on the SPINsider Podcast! For more about the SPINsider, visit spin.com/podcast or click here to launch iTunes.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 KLOË — Grip " 03:24
  • 2 Dead Right! — Rising Tide (Saint Motel Remix) " 03:17
  • 3 The-Dream — Fruition " 04:33
  • 4 A. G. Cook — What I Mean " 04:06
  • 5 Howardian — Be Fruitful " 02:03
  • 6 The Suffers — Make Some Room " 04:34
  • 7 Adventures — Your Sweetness " 04:10

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA