Grizzly Bear's 'Shields' B-Side 'Listen and Wait' Simmers Like an A-Side

'Shields Expanded' and 'Shields B-Sides' promise more unheard chamber-folk on November 12 via Warp

Grizzly Bear,
Grizzly Bear Photo by Tom Hines
Marc Hogan

Half-forgotten memories and must-heed voices factor prominently in the lyrics to "Listen and Wait," the latest track to emerge from Grizzly Bear's upcoming expanded edition of Shields, which ranked among SPIN's 50 Best Albums of 2012. These themes are appropriate for the ornately whirling track, which vividly recalls the rest of the album proper and centers around the Brooklyn band's ever-gorgeous choirboy harmonies. This previously unreleased bonus track follows the tempo-changing "Will Calls" demo from the deluxe release, which arrives November 12 via Warp Records. The extra material will be available both as part of a Shields Expanded edition, which is exactly what it sounds like, and as Shields B-Sides, which only includes the bonuses. The sets market themselves: Listen and, uh, wait until next month.


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Death Cab for Cutie — Black Sun " 04:49
  • 2 OOFJ — I Forgive You " 03:52
  • 3 MyMidnightHeart — D R O W N " 04:59
  • 4 In Tall Buildings — Bawl Cry Wail " 04:08
  • 5 Slutever — Smother " 01:55
  • 6 Lithuania — Pieces " 03:40
  • 7 Kuroma — Love Is on the Way " 03:29

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA