Hear Ghostface Killah and Adrian Younge's Head-Knocking 'Murder Spree'

'12 Reasons to Die' is due out on April 16 via Soul Temple

Marc Hogan

"There's a dozen ways to die / Six million ways to do it / Let's go through it," Ghostface Killah roars at the start of "Murder Spree," continuing, "My mind flow like fluid." That mix of brute violence and graceful eloquence defines the track, the latest from the Wu-Tang Clan rapper's upcoming concept album 12 Reasons to Die. "Murder Spree" features similarly snarling verses from guest rapper Inspectah Deck, U-God, Masta Killa, and Killa Sin, but the music's soul-steeped elegance is down to Adrian Younge, who — fresh off Philly-soul update Adrian Younge Presents the Delfonics — produced and composed the whole LP. This latest track is of a piece with the bravura live drumming and machine-gun cadences of previously shared "The Sure Shot (Parts 1 and 2)." The song's accompanying video, above, demonstrates the virtues of the vinyl boxset edition, which — yes! — includes the RZA-produced 12 Reasons comic book.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 3 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 4 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 5 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 6 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57
  • 7 Blood Orange — Delancey " 02:15

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA