Watch Fucked Up Roar Through New Zodiac Single 'Year of the Dragon'

Damian Abraham and co. also near completion of 'David Comes to Life' follow-up

Dan Reilly

Fucked Up's string of Chinese Zodiac-inspired epics continues, with the Canadian punk outfit unveiling "Year of the Dragon" at New York City's Le Poisson Rouge on Saturday, September 28. "Dragon" marks the eighth entry into the series, though they still have yet to release studio versions of "Year of the Hare" and "Year of the Rabbit," numbers six and seven, respectively. Clocking in at a shade under 15 minutes, "Dragon" mimics the format of its predecessors, featuring swirling instrumental detours between various visions of the band's unique brand of hardcore, with frontman Damian Abraham screaming about something or other in his typically awesome way.

According to the band's blog, "Year of the Dragon" will hopefully see an April release via Tank Crimes, and "Year of the Hare" is finished though no release date is planned yet. They're also nearly finished recording their fourth full-length, which will follow SPIN's best album of 2011, the double-LP David Comes to Life. Looks like we're in for yet another Fucked Up year.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 3 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 4 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 5 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 6 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 7 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA