Frankie Rose Doesn't Sound Too Sad on Dreamy 'Sorrow'

Former Dum Dum Girl plots 'Herein Wild' for September release

Frankie Rose sorrow herein wild new album cover
Frankie Rose's 'Herein Wild' album cover
Dan Reilly

Frankie Rose is back with the follow-up to last year's SPIN Essential, Interstellar — a "sine wave of angel-choir bombast and baritone-guitar bliss and celestial figurativeness," as our reviewer Camille Dodero put it. Or, in short, "a Factory Records tribute album to 'The Age of Aquarius'." With "Sorrow," the first track off of Herein Wild, Rose builds on that record's reverbed dreaminess. She moves even farther away from the garage rock of her early days (Vivian Girls, Dum Dum Girls, the Outs) and expands on her New Wave-y pop leanings, turning in an upbeat, string-enhanced performance with just a hint of Broadcast in the mix. The new album is out on September 24 via her new label, Fat Possum.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA