Flying Lotus and Herbie Hancock Do the Astral Plane on 'Moment of Hesitation'

The first 'You're Dead!' debuted Saturday on Gilles Peterson's BBC Radio show

Flying Lotus Herbie Hancock Moment of Hesitation BBC Gilles Peterson Stream
Flying Lotus' 'You're Dead!' album cover
Colin Joyce

Flying Lotus's fifth album You're Dead! will hit U.S. shores via Warp on October 7. Over the weekend, the Brainfeeder honcho shared the jazzy, tensile first single from that record on Gilles Peterson's BBC Radio 6 show. "Moment of Hesitation" the first taste of the long-hinted at collaboration with electro-jazz legend Herbie Hancock and its a suitably spectral take on FlyLo's serpentine beatmaking. Right-hand man Thundercat turns up too for some teeth-chattering bass splatters. Listen over at BBC at around the 1:11:00 of the stream. A brief interview with the Los Angeles producer sits just before that track starts.

For more, read SPIN's 2012 interview with Flying Lotus.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Django Django — First Light " 04:49
  • 2 Happy Fangs — In the Morning " 03:08
  • 3 Santiparro — The Benefit of Confrontation " 04:49
  • 4 Soda Fabric — Teenage Illusion " 04:03
  • 5 Walter Lukens — Every Night " 02:55
  • 6 Sarah Bethe Nelson — Paying " 05:47
  • 7 Faith Healer — Again " 02:57

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA