The F**king Eagles

Emily Youssef

Who? Though their name possibly stems from a hate-filled music review in The Big Lebowski, these Tacoma, Washington rockers are anything but slackers. After stints in other groups, John Owen Atkins (vocals/guitar), Stu Linkert (drums), Jesse Ray (guitar/vocals) and Dutch Kelly (bass) banded together in 2005. Their studio full-length debut, A Million Dollars Worth of Music, produced by Johnny Sangster (Mudhoney, The Posies, Murder City Devils), was issued via local label Gaptooth Jukebox earlier this year. Playing Bumbershoot's EMP | SFM Sky Church stage Sunday (Sept. 2) at 3:30 P.M.

What's the Deal? The Fucking Eagles are bad boys with hearts of gold, flip-flopping between rowdy and righteous. Often compared to the now-defunct Oblivians, the raucous quartet is a distinct breed, employing strutting lyrical antics and infectious, lo-fi guitar chords. Album opener "Baby I'm Coming Home" promises loyalty with unwavering drumming and classic Little Richard-like howling to solidify singer Atkins' case. The instant foot-stomper "He Won't Love You Like I'll Leave You" includes a ballsy anthemic hook not suitable for print while "Out of This World" returns to the wholesome side with a 1960s surf guitar riff and catchy punk rock sing-along vocals.

Fun Fact: Frontman/guitarist John Owen Atkins used to perform and record with former Tacoma alt rockers Seaweed. His former bandmate, guitarist Wade Neal also sings and plays organ on A Million Dollars Worth of Music.

Stay tuned to's coverage of Bumbershoot 2007, which goes down this weekend in Seattle, and watch a video interview with the Fucking Eagles plus snippets of their Bumbershoot set!

Now Hear This:
The Fucking Eagles - "Baby I'm Coming Home" DOWNLOAD MP3

On the Web:
The Fucking Eagles at MySpace

Talk: Do these vintage birds fly high?

Get a Free Digital Sampler from and Insound!
When you spend $25 at, you can download a free sampler featuring tracks from Bright Eyes, Dungen, Dinosaur Jr., and many more! FIND OUT HOW >>

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA