First Spin: Hear Miniature Tigers' Sexy 'Mia Pharaoh' LP

Miniature Tigers
Miniature Tigers
David Marchese WRITTEN BY
David Marchese

Restless Brooklyn indie outfit Miniature Tigers' first two albums found the band flirting with all sorts of different sounds, from brisk guitar jangle to harmony-laden blissfests. They're done playing coy. On the new Mia Pharaoh, due March 6 on Modern Art, the Tigers hop into bed with sexy electronic pop. This is a wise decision. Pharoah's "Sex on the Regular" and "Female Doctor", (check the latter's cleavage-heavy video) are slinky, lascivious jams, as frontman Charlie Brand coos in a lover-man falsetto over springy rhythm tracks and slippery synth ripples. The weather is getting warmer. We could use more of this kind of thing. SPIN has an exclusive first listen:

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA