First Spin: Hear Get-Up Kids Frontman Matt Pryor's 'Polish The Broken Glass'

David Bevan WRITTEN BY
David Bevan

On January 24, Get Up Kids frontman Matt Pryor will release May Day, his sophomore solo effort and a haunting assemblage of new songs that came together in May of last year. After finishing recording and mixing in just a few weeks, Pryor (who's rolling it out by way of his own Nightshoes Syndicate label) also launched a Kickstarter page to finance the project. Fan donations exceeded his initial goal three times over, and at the Kansas City native's behest, contributors selected the album's cover art as well.

SPIN is bringing you "Polish The Broken Glass," a fleet-footed strummer that finds Pryor in familiar territory — that of the soulful singalong.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA