First Spin: Hear EMA's Mesmerizing 'Angelo'

Erika Anderson, shot for SPIN's September 2011 issue by Tom Allen
David Bevan WRITTEN BY
David Bevan

Today, EMA is uncaging her Marked digital single and its B-side, "Angelo," is streaming right here. (There will be a limited run of 7" vinyl available on November 21). It's a cut that finds the Northern Californian songstress marching even further into the napalmed spaces that comprised this year's Past Life Martyred Saints, as she howls through hills of distortion and hum. She also brought company this time out: Oakland rapper MzGorjis delivers a rumbling, pre-climax guest verse featuring a bit of brilliant philosophy: "Life is a gift."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 2 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35
  • 3 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31
  • 4 Mystery Skulls — Paralyzed (Single Version) " 02:34
  • 5 G-Eazy — Say Ft. French Montana " 04:32
  • 6 Kevin Morby — We Did It All Wrong " 04:47
  • 7 Kiesza — Giant In My Heart (Arches Remix) " 05:50

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA