Fall Out Boy Patrick Stump Arrested

Patrick Stump
David Marchese

The road means trouble for Fall Out Boy's Patrick Stump. The singer/guitarist was arrested Tuesday night, August 25, in Hollywood, CA, on a traffic warrant as a result of his previously driving without a license, reports TMZ.

The arrest, which came during a break in F.O.B.'s summer tour opening for the reunited Blink-182, found Stump, 25, held in a West Hollywood sheriff's station on $15,000 bail. It was a brief correctional visit though, as he was released on bail around 4:30 A.M. Wednesday morning.

90 minutes after his bail, Stump spoke with MTV about the incident. "All I really have to say is ignorance of the law isn't innocence," Stump confessed. "I didn't want to give up my Illinois driver's license and was unaware that was a crime. It is, by the way, in the state of California. Lesson learned. I technically broke a law, so technically I deserve whatever I get. But man, is my mom gonna be pissed."

If Stump is convicted of the misdemeanor charge, he could face up to six months in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.

Whether the arrest will have any affect on F.O.B.'s scheduled August 28 appearance at England's Reading Festival is unclear. No further details have yet been reported, and a call in to the band's publicist has yet-to-be returned.

In related news, rumors have mounted claiming that F.O.B. will take a long break from recording and touring after their final gig with Blink, October 4 at New York City's Madison Square Garden. In a recent post to his Twitter, bassist Pete Wentz claimed the show would be the quartet's last "for a very long time."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 2 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 3 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57
  • 4 Blood Orange — Delancey " 02:15
  • 5 Gangrene — Play It Cool Feat Samuel T. Herring (of Future Islands) & Earl Sweatshirt " 03:53
  • 6 Jay Electronica — Road To Perdition feat. Jay Z " 03:33
  • 7 Sun Kil Moon — Ali/Spinks 2 " 00:00

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA