Exclusive Song: Modest Mouse, "Perpetual Motion Machine"

Modest Mouse
Anna Hyclak

Good news for people who love Modest Mouse: if you can't wait to hear the band's upcoming EP, No One's First and You're Next (out Aug. 4), you can listen to one of its singles, "Perpetual Motion Machine," right now -- exclusively on SPIN.com!

The tune has a big band Southern jazz feel, with lots of horns and a New Orleans-style funk that's a perfect match for frontman Isaac Brock's signature howl.

No One's First and You're Next is a collection of eight songs -- six brand new and two older tunes. The new songs, including "Perpetual Motion Machine" (also released with B-side "History Sticks To Your Feet" as a limited-edition 7-inch vinyl), were recorded since the release of 2007's We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank.

Catch MM on tour this summer with Grandaddy guitarist Jim Fairchild filling in for Johnny Marr, who's busy working with British punk trio the Cribs on their fourth album, Ignore the Ignorant (out September 7).

Listen to "Perpetual Motion Machine" below. Then let us know what you think in the comments section!

LISTEN: Modest Mouse, "Perpetual Motion Machine"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA