EXCLUSIVE: 'No Use For A Name' Singer Goes Solo

Tony Sly
Kelsey Paine

After 20 years with San Jose, CA, punks No Use For A Name, frontman Tony Sly will release his debut solo effort on Feb. 16. The record, titled 12 Song Program, finds the singer/guitarist breaking away from his punk roots in favor of a more polished, folk-inspired sound. Download album track "Via Munich" below.

Though just two minutes long, the new track is packed full of introspective longing that even the upbeat production can't hide. Sly's raspy tone roughens up the bright acoustic guitars, accordion, and sweeping strings, exposing his vulnerability as he address the tune's serious subject matter.

"This song is about the inevitable and constant consumption of alcohol that goes along with being on the road," Sly tells SPIN.com. "It's supposed to make tours seem shorter, but it's a method that doesn't really work and is terrible for your liver."

Sly kicks off a short West Coast run on Feb. 5 in Seattle with Foo Fighters guitarist/former No Use For A Name member Chris Shiflett. See the complete itinerary here.

Listen to "Via Munich" below, then tell us what you think about Sly's new sound in comments section.

LISTEN: Tony Sly, "Via Munich"(DOWNLOAD MP3)

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA