Hear Yo La Tengo's Ira Kaplan Seek 'Happiness' on New Eluvium Song

From the ambient expert's May 'Nightmare Ending' LP

Eluvium 'Happiness' Ira Kaplan Yo La Tengo
Yo La Tengo's Ira Kaplan / Photo by Getty Images
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Yo La Tengo vocalist and recent Words of Wisdom-giver Ira Kaplan contributes to the latest leak from Portland ambient o.g. Eluvium. The man born Matthew Cooper is gearing up to release his sixth album, a double-disc set dubbed Nightmare Ending, May 14 via Temporary Residence. So far we've had a chance to hear the gentle, reverie-like "Entendre" and the blooming "Envenom Mettle," both of which were instrumentals. But new song "Happiness" finds Kaplan cooing lovely what-ifs ("If I could push dark thoughts away / If I pretend the world is safe") over a lightly drifting lullaby that sounds like a precursor to a dream rather than the conclusion of one. For meatier stuff, be sure to experience Yo La Tengo's gorgeous ;Fade, but first envision a more perfect existence with Eluvium.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA