Earl Sweatshirt Makes Live Debut at NYC Odd Future Show

Earl Sweatshirt
Earl, freed
Daniel Kreps

It's been a week of firsts for Odd Future's long-absent Earl Sweatshirt. Just hours after giving his first ever interview to Hot 97 and posing for his first Terry Richardson photo shoot, the 18-year-old MC found himself onstage in front of thousands of fans who had already committed his lyrics to memory. Last night Thebe Kgositsile made his live debut during Odd Future's gig at New York's Hammerstein Ballroom. Sweatshirt was center stage for three tracks — "Orange Juice," "AssMilk" and his debut album's "Kill" — before closing out his debut live performance with his namesake track, "Earl."

As the New York Times notes, Hodgy Beats and Domo Genesis rapped on their track "Tang Golf" that they would free Earl from Samoans — a reference to the rapper's exile at a boarding school — summoning Sweatshirt to the stage. The crowd went nuts, but they were probably nuts to begin with. Check out videos from Earl's live debut (via Miss Info):

"Orange Juice"




00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA