DOWNLOAD: New Amanda Palmer Song

Jason Webley and Amanda Palmer
Michael Sheffield

For ex-Dresden Doll Amanda Palmer, freedom sounds like a sweet folk ballad.

The cabaret songstress has just posted a new song, "The Truth...," as a free download on her website to commemorate her release from Roadrunner Records.

The tune features Jason Webley on guitar and Sam Kulik (from Palmer's touring band the Nervous Cabaret) on trombone. It arrives with a "heart on her sleeve" letter to fans about her career and new pictures from the studio.

Palmer -- ever the social media junkie -- Tweeted up a storm Tuesday night, writing that she was celebrating her newfound artistic freedom by drinking from a keg before an impromptu Webcast, in which she performed "The Truth..." live, among other songs, from her parents' house in Lexington, MA.

Listen to "The Truth..." below, then tell us what you think in the comment section. And catch Palmer touring this spring with Evelyn Evelyn, her new project with Jason Webley. See their complete itinerary here.

LISTEN: Amanda Palmer, "The Truth..."
<a href="">Do You Swear To Tell The Truth The Whole Truth And Nothing But The Truth So Help Your Black Ass by Amanda Palmer</a>

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA