Download Azealia Banks' Fierce 19-Track 'Fantasea' Mixtape

Download Azealia Banks' Fierce 19-Track 'Fantasea' Mixtape
Marc Hogan

Up until now, Azealia Banks has been a rapper enjoying the ephemeral type of success born of giddily irrepressible YouTube videos, four-song digital EPs, and a rare live set or two. Yesterday the New York MC posted her first full-length release, the 19-track Fantasea, the 19-track Fantasea mixtape, for free download, and took the next leap. On early listens, not only is it a worthy use of your 122.2 MB space, but she nails the landing.

As with Banks' previous tracks, Fantasea combines emphatic, no-bullshit rapping with sleek, state-of-the-2012-art electronic dance beats. "Liquorice," the 1991 cut that recently inspired a Western-themed video isn't here, and neither is Banks' recent appearance on one of M.I.A.'s feature-packed "Bad Girls" remixes. But clap-happy "Jumanji," with its instantly quotable "real bitch, all day, Uptown, Broadway" catch phrase, most definitely is, along with Diplo-assisted marching-band party-starter "Fuck Up the Fun," acid-throwback Styles P team-up "Nathan," and more. The new songs range from a strikingly apt cover of Zebra Katz' vogue-rap diss track "Ima Read" to a goth-organ tongue-twister called "Runnin'."

We haven't heard the last of the LaGuardia High School of the Performing Arts alum formerly known as Miss Bank$, either. She's set to release her major-label debut album, Broke With Expensive Taste, this September. As Banks tweeted last night: "NOW IT'S ALBUM TIME !!!!!!!!!!!!!" Tell the scientists mermaids are real, after all.

Download Azealia Banks' full Fantasea mixtape here.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA