Peter Gaston

On paper, it's a perfect pairing: The impeccable French pop band Air working with psych-rock dandies MGMT. Splendidly, this just-released Air remix of the Brooklyn band's "It's Working" delivers in full. Download it below!

Premiered at RCRDLBL, the remix of the Congratulations track begins subtly, with Air adding a gently pulsating bassline underneath Andrew VanWyngarden's reverb-drenched verses, while a touch of organ flutters loftily in the mix. Then, Air strip away the high end entirely, leaving just the deep groove behind -- equal parts minimalistic, in a Kraftwerkian way, and slick pop sheen, a la Joe Jackson's "Steppin' Out."

Download it for yourself and tell us what you think in the comments below.

You can also watch the music video for the original version of "It's Working" here.

LISTEN: Air, "It's Working (MGMT cover)"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Django Django — First Light " 04:49
  • 2 Happy Fangs — In the Morning " 03:08
  • 3 Santiparro — The Benefit of Confrontation " 04:49
  • 4 Soda Fabric — Teenage Illusion " 04:03
  • 5 Walter Lukens — Every Night " 02:55
  • 6 Sarah Bethe Nelson — Paying " 05:47
  • 7 Faith Healer — Again " 02:57

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA