Sample Diplo's 'Psychedelic Southern Gospel' Solo LP

Diplo is prepping his first solo album since 2004's 'Florida'

Diplo's 'About That Life'
Diplo's 'About That Life'
Marc Hogan

Diplo has somehow found time in his schedule for a solo album. According to Pitchfork, the omnipresent DJ and producer is working on a follow-up to 2004's Florida. Diplo reportedly characterizes the upcoming album as "psychedelic Southern gospel," which is as fitting a descriptor as any for his new single "About That Life."

Featuring feathery vocals by Jahan Lennon, formerly of now-defunct Mad Decent signing Popo, Diplo's latest is a bit of a left turn from theDutch house of his new Express Yourself EP, let alone from his recent productions for Snoop "Lion" Dogg, No Doubt, and Usher — or, y'know, his bangin' Sleigh Bells remix. With jangly acoustic strums, off-kilter hand percussion, and noodly flute, knowing Diplo the track might well be closely based on some forgotten '60s psych-pop obscurity. The chorus of "got my feet on the ground, my head in the clouds" clearly transcends decades. Then again, the track also evokes a mellower, less-talky, sadly Beck-free successor to Beck ca. 2005's Guero gear-up "E-Pro," so go figure.

"Psychedelic Southern gospel" might encompass more than you think. Pitchfork reports that Express Yourself's jackhammering title track will also be on the album. What were they doing on that train?

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA