Deerhoof Transform an Exorcism Into a Dance Party in 'Breakup Songs' Video

S.F. art-rock experts share a clip from titular LP

Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

San Francisco art-rock enthusiasts Deerhoof are known for keeping it weird, and they hardly disappoint with the new video for "Breakup Songs." The semi-titular track from the band's 11th album Breakup Song is brief but memorable — two minutes of disjointed instrumentation that shambles its way to a strange sort of pop as vocalist Satomi Matsuzaki shout-sings three phrases in succession: "When you say it's all over," "Hell yeah," and "Anyway." Stereogum has just premiered the video, which is equally enigmatic and, eventually, oddly upbeat. When the Pieter Dirkx-directed clip begins, we meet some sort of shaman in a Shyamalan-esque bird mask, trudging through a medieval town and inspiring tributes of brightly colored vomit from whoever he passes. When the creepy figure reaches his destination an exorcism becomes an unlikely dance party.

In related news, Deerhoof drummer Greg Saunier made it onto our recent 100 Greatest Drummers of Alternative Music list — he's also launched a project with Sean Lennon called Mystical Weapons.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA