Hear Deer Tick's Sleazy, Sordid 'Thyme'

Garage-rock quintet's fifth LP due September 24 via Partisan

Deer Tick
Deer Tick Photo by Anna Webber
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Deer Tick have already shared most of their upcoming fifth album, Negativity, online. So far, the Rhode Island-reared miscreants have uploaded seven of the LP's 12 tracks onto SoundCloud: "The Rock," "The Dream's In the Ditch,""The Curtain," "Just Friends,""Mirror Walls," "Mr. Sticks," and "Trash." Now, SPIN has the eighth. "Thyme" features drummer Dennis Ryan singing lead, beckoning over a web of mangy, horror-rock blues, "Take your clothes off / Hop up into my bed / I'll take your money / I'll steal your oxygen."

Stream "Thyme" below and pre-order Negativity, which was recorded in Portland with producer Steve Berlin, through iTunes. The follow-up to 2011's Divine Providence officially drops on September 24 via Partisan Records.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Michael Rault — Nothing Means Nothing " 02:56
  • 2 Gold Beach — Impressions " 04:32
  • 3 GENUFLEX — The Last Gods (Mark Stewart And Rambone Remix) " 05:13
  • 4 Sleigh Bells — That Did It Feat. Tink " 02:41
  • 5 Monster Rally & Jay Stone — Recollection " 02:10
  • 6 Little Boots — Pretty Tough " 03:18

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA