Hear Brendan Canty's Deathfix Broadcast Explosive Prog 'Transmission'

The Fugazi drummer and Richard Morel team up for a self-titled LP, due this February on Dischord

Deathfix Transmission Dischord Brendan Canty Rich Morel
Brendan Canty and Rich Morel are Deathfix / Photo from Facebook
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

That the two men who founded Deathfix boast such disparate musical backgrounds suggests that the resulting project would sound nothing like either's previous work. Guitarist/singer Brendan Canty, of course, hails from post-punk pioneers Fugazi and emo forefathers Rites of Spring. Keyboardist/singer Richard Morel is a dance producer who's remixed everyone from the Killers to New Order to Mariah Carey. But together, and with a little help from Devin Ocampo (drums) and Mark Cisneros (bass), they're capable of formidable prog-rock epics powered by rip-roaring instrumentation and informed by early '70s glam.

Their self-titled LP debut is out February 19 on Dischord, and the first taste comes in the form of "Transmission," a nearly nine-minute slab of forceful psych that takes the listener on a seismic journey through varying terrain. There's chiming glockenspiel, motorik drum crush, swirling vocal harmonies, desolate wordless passages, loud-quiet dynamics, actual saxophone and an explosive finish. Check out the entire Deathfix track list below along with those upcoming tour dates — transmissions like this are born to be witnessed live.


Deathfix, Deathfix track list:

1. "Better Than Bad"
2. "Low Lying Dreams"
3. "Hospital"
4. "Dali's House"
5. "Playboy"
6. "Mind Control"
7. "Transmission"

Deathfix tour dates:

March 8 - Pittsburgh, PA @ The Mr. Roboto Project
March 9 - Cleveland, OH @ Now That's Class
March 10 - Chicago, IL @ Schubas Tavern
March 11 - Detroit, MI @ Magic Stick Lounge
March 12 - Toronto, ON @ Wrong Bar
March 13 - Montreal, QC @ Il Motore
March 14 - Cambridge, MA @ TT The Bears
March 15 - Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda's
March 16 - Brooklyn, NY @ Knitting Factory
March 17 - Washington, DC @ Black Cat Backstage

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA