David Bowie Lives for the Applause in Epic 10-Minute James Murphy Remix

DFA leader's clappy "Love Is Lost (Hello Steve Reich)"

David Bowie, James Murphy,
David Bowie and James Murphy Photo by Getty Images
Marc Hogan

James Murphy has said that one of the first two records he bought as a kid was a "Fame" 7-inch by David Bowie. Now the LCD Soundsystem maestro and DFA Records honcho has had the opportunity to remix the art-rock luminary, and the results are streaming online at last.

"Love Is Lost (Hello Steve Reich Mix by James Murphy for the DFA)" is 10-plus minutes of spaced-out avant-disco that incorporates repetitive handclaps inspired by minimalist composer Reich's "Clapping Music." The track will appear on The Next Day Extra, a three-disc deluxe edition of Bowie's new comeback album The Next Day. Murphy's remix originally appeared accompanied by a brief interview in its BBC Radio 6 world premiere.

The Next Day Extra's disc of bonus material also includes four previously unreleased songs plus a track that was previously a Japan-only exclusive. The set comes with a DVD of The Next Day's music videos, too:"Where Are We Now?," "The Stars (Are Out Tonight)," "The Next Day," and "Valentine's Day."

As for Murphy, he has been working with former members of Sepultura on a project dubbed "a metal version of the White Stripes." And of course, he also served as a producer on Arcade Fire's Reflektor.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Night Drive — Easy to Lie " 03:56
  • 2 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 3 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 4 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 5 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 6 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 7 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA