Watch Dave Grohl's Star-Studded 'Sound City' Trailer

Trent Reznor, Stevie Nicks, Tom Petty, Neil Young, Rick Rubin, and more

Marc Hogan

Dave Grohl keeps drumming up anticipation for his Sound City film (oh god, no pun intended!). With the Foo Fighters frontman and former Nirvana skin-pounder's directorial debut now officially set to make its debut at the Sundance Film Festival next month, he has shared another trailer for the project.

With a soundtrack ranging from Black Rebel Motorcycle Club to Nine Inch Nails, the clip shows famous musician after famous musician enthusing about the Los Angeles studio complex that gives the film its title. Grohl himself appears, as do Trent Reznor, Stevie Nicks, Tom Petty, Neil Young, Rick Rubin, John Fogerty, Lars Ulrich, and more. The trailer suggests the film is about not just a building but rather a broader conversation about how music keeps its human element amid ever-changing technology.

If Grohl really wanted an answer to that question, he might've talked to Future, whose 2012 album Pluto, as SPIN's Christopher R. Weingarten wrote in naming it our #11 album of the year, taps into a "decades-old tradition of alien rhyme voices, from Rammellzee to Lil Wayne." Yup, a non-human element in music has a long tradition, even in rock'n'roll: Grohl himself pulled a Peter Frampton on the Foos' 1999 talkbox-happy "Generator." Instead, here we have Metallica's Ulrich saying, "Chemistry is something that happens between people." Take that, periodic table.

Luckily, the Sound City conversation is going on all over the place. Grohl has kicked off a SiriuxXM Radio show in connection with the documentary, and he has unveiled at least three other trailers for the film, plus a hand-written announcement. The Sound City site also features snippets of interviews with Josh Homme, Mick Fleetwood, Butch Vig, Frank Black, Reznor, Petty, Forgerty, and tons more.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA