Hear Danny Brown and Paul White's 'Street Lights,' a Dystopian Rap Dream

Detroit MC reunites with psych-inclined UK producer

Danny Brown Paul White 'Street Lights' Single Dabrye Remix
Paul White and Danny Brown unite under "Street Lights"
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Another day, another excellent set of verses served up by SPIN Hottest MC Danny Brown. On Tuesday, we heard the Detroit star reprise his "Blunt After Blunt" persona for the darkly tinted trunk-rattler, "Kush Coma," and before that it was "#HottestMC," a menacing dismissal of those who'd make a grab for his crooked crown. Now we've got a forthcoming single from psych-rock-obsessed London producer Paul White, "Street Lights."

The dystopian track is the perfect landscape for Brown's bleak but chest-puffing rhymes. It's with a certain amount of pride and aplomb that he declares himself an "old toothless-ass nigga" — after all, "the bitches fucking with him 'cause they know he got charisma" — before detailing an urban environment cast in long shadows and peopled by dangerous characters.

The vinyl and digital single is out April 15 via One-Handed (backed by a Dabrye remix), but you can pre-order now via Bandcamp

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA