Daft Punk Let Producer Todd Edwards Tell 'Random Access Memories' West Coast Tale

The second entry in 'The Collaborators' series

Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Last week, Daft Punk kicked off a new video series called The Collaborators, which takes a look at the different artists the French house duo worked with to craft their severely anticipated new album, Random Access Memories (due May 21 via Columbia Records). The inaugural clip focused on Italo-disco pioneer Giorgio Moroder, and now robo-DJs Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo have dropped the series' second entry, a seven-minute interview with producer Todd Edwards, who previously teamed with Daft Punk to co-write, produce, and sing on Discovery cut "Face to Face."

Edwards, a New Jersey native, reveals that the Parisian two-piece recorded Random Access Memories in Los Angeles with live instrumentation, and adds that the "Get Lucky" maestros were chasing a "West Coast vibe" for the pending LP. He namedrops Fleetwood Mac, the Doobie Brothers, and the Eagles as stylistic touchstones, and describes the upcoming songs as being "future classics."

"They reversed gears and went back to a time that no one's really focusing on," Edwards says. "I think that younger producers are going to be blown away."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA