Coldplay Debut Two Gorgeous New Songs

Coldplay's Chris Martin (getty)
Kevin O'Donnell

On Sunday, Coldplay will release an iTunes EP Every Teardrop Is a Waterfall,which will lead with the title track they debutedearlier this month. The three-song set will also be bundled with two new tracks: "Major Minus" and "Moving to Mars," which you can hear here.

The songs will also be included on the band's still-untitled fall album, co-produced by Brian Eno, who helmed their 2008 set Viva La Vida. You can hear Eno's atmospheric and arty touch all over both new cuts. "Major Minus" has an echo-soaked production and a fuzzed-out, crunchy guitar riff underneath Martin's joyous yelps. "Moving to Mars" is far quieter: It starts as a low-key piano ballad featuring Martin dipping into a seriously low baritone, but it soon takes off into a gorgeous anthem, with orchestral synths and a lyrical guitar solo that gets tweaked with all manner of studio effects.

At their recent headlining slot at Germany's Rock am Ring Festival, Coldplay performed "Major Minus," "Every Teardrop Is a Waterfall" and three other new songs. Head over here to watch footage. Also expect the band to unveil more material at their top-billed gig at Glastonbury this weekend.

Hear It: Coldplay, "Major Minus"


Hear It: Coldplay, "Moving to Mars"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 2 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26
  • 3 Buzzcocks — "It's Not You" " 02:46
  • 4 The Drums — Magic Mountain " 04:05
  • 5 Jessie Ware — Kind Of...Sometimes...Maybe " 03:46
  • 6 Flying Lotus — Coronus, the Terminator " 02:40
  • 7 JEFF The Brotherhood — Gouge Away " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA