Preview Christopher Owens' 'Lysandre Acoustic' Album With Bittersweet 'Part of Me'

Former Girls singer gets stripped for surprise free release

Christopher Owens Part of Me Acoustic Lysandre
Christopher Owens
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

With his previous band Girls, Christopher Owens made his name unabashedly exploring emotional fragility over a combination of pop and garage-rock that swooned or swirled in response to the lyrics. With his first solo endeavor Lysandre, Owens established an on-album persona capable of looking back on the moment, rather than living firmly within it at all times. "A summer sun, a perfect / A perfect night, it ended in the morning," he sings on "Part of Me (Lysandre's Epilogue)," a lovely little bittersweet ode to losing love. Considering the wistful vibes of the song, it almost seems meant to be heard in acoustic form — thankfully, Owens has re-recorded not only "Part of Me" (streaming below) but the rest of Lysandre as well for an acoustic version of the album that will be released Wednesday (April 17, 9 a.m. EST) and made available for free download at his website. Fans looking for something physical can pre-order the Lysandre Acoustic vinyl 10-inch via Turnstile Music (U.K.) and Fat Possum (U.S.) beginning on Wednesday as well.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA