Charli XCX Teams With Weezer, Vampire Weekend Members for New Album

'True Romance' follow-up will include ecstatic single "SuperLove"

Charli XCX, Rivers Cuomo, Rostam Batmanglij, Weezer, Rivers Cuomo,
Charli XCX performs at Brooklyn's Music Hall of Willamsburg Photo by David Andrako for SPIN
Marc Hogan

Last December, Charli XCX told SPIN that her next album, which would include blissed-out single "SuperLove," was not going to be — she made a face at the term — synth-pop. She said, "The music I'm making now is so much more live — it's inspired by the Ramones, the Hives, Weezer…." And now, she has told Complex that Weezer's Rivers Cuomo — along with Rostam Batmanglij from Vampire Weekend, our 2013 band of the year — worked with her on the as-yet-untitled record. As she told SPIN of the LP, "It's very shouty and raw, and that's why I'm doing it quickly." For those who loved her 2013 full-length True Romance (SPIN's No. 5 Pop Album of 2013), it can't be done quickly enough. In the meantime, check out her punky new song "Allergic Reaction" and Clueless-revamping video with Iggy Azalea.

UPDATE: Below, see Charli perform a rather Weezer-y new song, "Breaking Up," live at SXSW.


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA