Catch the Buzz: The Dutchess and the Duke

William Goodman

Who? Seattle-based vets and childhood pals Kimberly Morrison and Jesse Lortz, who, after collaborating in various capacities since 2002, dropped the Dutchess and the Duke's debut single release, "Mary," in 2007 via Boom Boom Castle Records. Shortly thereafter, Sub Pop seedling Hardly Art took notice and put the duo to work in a west Seattle basement studio with an 8-track recorder. The result: She's the Dutchess, He's the Duke, the boy-girl group's inaugural full-length. Chock full of timeless, lo-fi folk-pop ditties, the album's moods range from cute to solemn, but this debut is all-around impressive.

Their latest: The duo's debut full-length, She's the Dutchess, He's the Duke, arrived Tuesday (July 8) via Sub Pop offshoot Hardly Art.

Recommended if you like... Bob Dylan, Leonard Cohen, Moldy Peaches

Now Hear This: "Strangers" (DOWNLOAD MP3)

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA