Burial's Mid-December EP Will Spoil Every Year-End List

Three-track, 28-minute untitled release arrives December 16 via Hyperdub

Burial, new EP, Hyperdub
From the cover of Burial's 2007 'Untrue'
Marc Hogan

SPIN's 50 Best Albums of 2013 list is in, and we do mean albums — no EPs on this one. But if your personal list-making criteria leave room for shorter releases, you might want to use pencil until December 16. That's when spectral U.K. producer Burial will release an EP, according to a distribution email obtained by Resident Advisor and Boomkat.

A title and other details aren't yet available, but the EP will consist of three tracks totaling 28 minutes. Burial's usual label, London-based Hyperdub, will release the project on 180-gram 12-inch vinyl and jewel-case CD, plus as a digital download. No word from Hyperdub yet via social media about the release, but the label has noted it has new Burial T-shirts for pre-sale.

The release marks Burial's first since last year's "Truant"/"Rough Sleeper" single and three-track Kindred EP. The mystery-favoring artist also collaborated with Four Tet on 2012 track "Nova." The "Archangel" creator hasn't released a proper album since the excellent Untrue in late 2007. Kanye's place is secure.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA