Bruce Springsteen Joins CBS's Quest to Become Dad-Rock Destination

January 12 episode of 'The Good Wife' will feature three songs from the Boss' new LP

bruce springsteen, high hopes, new album, cbs, the good wife
Bruce Springsteen has 'High Hopes' for the 'Murder, She Wrote' network Photo by Getty Images
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Bruce Springsteen's new album drops on January 14, but the Boss' followers will get an early dose of High Hopes thanks to CBS. As the Hollywood Reporter points out, your grandparents' favorite television network is teaming up with your dad's favorite rock star: From January 5 through 13, CBS will have the exclusive stream of Springsteen's next LP, marking the first time that the network has hosted an album preview.

And to ensure that CBS fans hear a portion of Bruce's Wrecking Ball follow-up before it hits shelves, the channel has arranged for a few songs to air on The Good Wife. The January 12 episode of the Julianna Margulies-starring drama will highlight three tunes from High Hopes — the title track, "Hunter of Invisible Game," and the record's reworked version of "The Ghost of Tom Joad," all of which feature Rage Against the Machine's Tom Morello.

High Hopes may be the first album to stream on CBS' website, but this isn't the first time that the historically senior-skewing network has joined forces with a long-in-the-tooth musical act. Last year, Black Sabbath made a guest appearance on CBS procedural CSI: Crime Scene Investigation to promote their comeback album, 13, and perform the single "End of the Beginning."

Springsteen's High Hopes is on the way via Columbia Records. The record, which as Billboard reports was accidentally up for sale on Amazon for a brief time on December 28, collects a mixture of original tracks, covers, and new versions of songs from the Boss' back catalogue. Amazon is now accepting pre-orders.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 2 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 3 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 4 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 5 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 6 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 7 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA