Brandon Flowers Solo Album Set for Sept. Release

Brandon Flowers / Photo by Lucy Hamblin
Peter Gaston

The debut solo album from Killers frontman Brandon Flowers, Flamingo, now has a release date, September 14, and a few confirmed tracks.

Flamingo began as the fourth Killers album, but became a solo project when the rest of the band decided to take a break after seven years of nonstop recording and touring.

Song titles "Welcome to Fabulous Las Vegas," "Jilted Lovers and Broken Hearts," "Playing With Fire," and "Only the Young" -- and the album title itself (riffing on the famous Flamingo Hotel) -- foreshadow a record that will continue to explore Flowers' fascination with his hometown of Las Vegas, much like the Killers' second album, Sam's Town. A full tracklisting is forthcoming.

"Crossfire," the first single, hit radio last week, and is now for sale on iTunes.

Flowers will also play a few live gigs in support of the record around its September release, but no specific dates have been announced.

As revealed in Flowers' interview last week with Radio 1's Zane Lowe, the album was written and recorded with a three-headed producer "dream team" of Daniel Lanois (U2, Bob Dylan), Brendan O'Brien (Pearl Jam), and Stuart Price (Madonna's musical director and producer of the Killers' last album, Day & Age) and features a guest appearance by Jenny Lewis.

Listen to "Crossfire" at Brandon's official site, and sound off about Flowers' solo foray in the comments below.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA