Big Freedia Twerks Toward New LP 'Just Be Free' With Frenzied 'Explode'

"Release your wiggle," New Orleans bounce royal insists ahead of June 17 album

Big Freedia, 'Just Be Free,'
Big Freedia in the 'Just Be Free' cover art
Marc Hogan

And here you thought Big Freedia was already blowing up. The champion of New Orlean's frenetic, twerk-friendly style of hip-hop known as bounce music is set to release a new album titled Just Be Free on June 17 via Queen Diva Music (you can pre-order it on iTunes) and first single "Explode" is every bit the rowdy blast its title implies. "Release your wiggle," Freedia commands amid insistent, rattling beats.

Producers on the new LP include her longtime associate BlaqNMilD and Oakland, California's Thomas McElroy, whose credits range from Raphael Saadiq to Madonna. Freedia said of the album to Rolling Stone, which premiered this song, "So much of my music is appreciated live, but I think these tracks are one you can listen to at a late night twerk party or an afternoon barbecue and enjoy!"

Until that happy day, revisit Freedia's twerking world record and criticism of Miley Cyrus' twerk technique, watch her ass-tastic "Feelin' Myself" video, and keep an eye out for the return of Fuse reality show Big Freedia: Queen of Bounce in June.

Listen to "Explode" below, or scroll down for the LP track list.

Big Freedia's Just Be Free track list:

1. "Turn Da Beat Up"
2. "Dangerous"
3. "N.O. Bounce"
4. "Jump On It"
5. "Lift Dat Leg Up"
6. "Ol' Lady"
7. "Where My Queens At"
8. "Explode"
9. "Y'Tootsay"
10. "Mo Azz"

Jump into the ring:

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA