Soundgarden's Ben Shepherd Gets Saxy on Dirt-Caked 'Keystone'

HBS shares a grungy cut from his solo album 'In Deep Owl'

Ben Shepherd Keystone new song in deep owl soundgraden
Ben Shepherd, hanging with some basses that may have been used on Keystone Photo by Elizabeth Raab
Dan Reilly

Ben Shepherd continues to show his range as a solo artist with his new track "Keystone," which premiered over at PureVolume. Whereas "Baron Robber" was a psych-rock assault and "Collide" offered up dark folk, the latest from the Seattle-based songwriter's upcoming solo debut In Deep Owl is a plodding, bari sax-enhanced dirge — the perfect theme song for a drifter, with Shepherd's vocals showing getting gruff over the grunged-up guitar-play. The 11-track album will be released on August 27 under the moniker HBS (Hunter Benedict Shepherd) and iTunes pre-order is up now. For more gnarled wisdom from this Soundgarden OG, revisit our November feature on the reunited band, Animal Instict.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA